Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature

Executive Offices

Elected in Joint Session

Ethan Netherly
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Class of 2009; Political Science
Hometown: Athens, Tenn.

Ethan recently graduated from Cleveland State Community College and enters the University of Tennessee at Knoxville in the fall as a Junior working toward a Political Science degree.

"There are five points I strive to achieve everyday whether it's at home or in the classroom," Ethan says.

"With the valuable leadership skills I have been taught I try to model the way, inspire a shared vision, challenge the process, enable others, and encourage the heart."

At Cleveland State, Ethan was a Senator in the Student Government Association for his freshman and sophomore years. He was also an Ambassador and Student Host both years.

"As former president of the L.E.A.D. organization and active student at Cleveland State Community College, I set examples of leadership for others to follow. As a personal goal of mine I believe strongly in giving to others."

Ethan's volunteer activities include Habitat for Humanity and Junior Achievement.

"By volunteering community service to non-profit organizations and lending time to others I engage myself regularly in getting students involved. It is important that every student has a voice in an environment which they are a part of.

"Allowing others the opportunity to achieve their goals helps me get closer to mine."

Ethan, originally named Amir Bahreini, recently completed the process for legally changing to an historic family name.

Executive Council

Secretary of State
Elected in Joint Session

Attorney General
Elected by the Supreme Court

State Treasurer
Appointed by the Governor

Chris Drew
Austin Peay State University, Clarksville
Class of 2010; Business Finance
Hometown: Clarksville, Tenn.

Jessyca Newman
East Tennessee State University
Class of 2008; Political Science & Criminal Justice
Hometown: Elizabethton, Tenn.

Amanda Bush
Union University, Jackson
Class of 2010; Business Management and Religious Studies
Hometown: Seymour, Tenn.

Secretary of StateChris is the Executive Secretary for the Student Government Association. He is an active member in Students Organized to Advance Renewable Energy, which helped pass a referendum for a renewable energy fee on campus. He is a member of Sigma Phi Epsilon and the honor and service organization Gamma Beta Phi Society.

Attorney GeneralJessyca is serving her second term as Attorney General for the ETSU Student Government Association. She also served as a Senator for 2005-2006. She attended LeaderShape in the summer of 2006. She is chapter President of Sigma Alpha Lambda, National Leadership and Honors Organization,. Jessyca is also a member of Phi Kappa Phi and the Golden Key International Honor Society.

State TreasurerAmanda is a sophomore at Union University. She is majoring in Business Administration and Christian Studies. She is a member at West Jackson Baptist Church, Klemata bible study, Global Outreach. Amanda is a member of the business organization, Phi Beta Lambda. She works in the children's ministry at West Jackson Baptist Church.


Lt. Governor & Speaker
Elected by the Senate

Speaker Pro Tem
Elected by the Senate

Kenneth Taylor
University of Memphis
Class of 2009
Hometown: Dyersburg, Tenn.

De'Wayne Carter
Volunteer State Community College, Gallatin
Class of 2009; Commercial Music
Hometown: Mount Juliet, Tenn.

Lieutenant GovernorKenneth began his college career at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga where he served as Freshman Senate President and Chairman of the Projects and Procedures Committee. At UTC, Kenneth and the Freshman Senate were instrumental in the creation of the Opening Days Orientation Program. At the University of Memphis, Kenneth was selected as Chairman of the Judicial Affairs committee and also served as Speaker Pro Tempore of the Senate in his SGA.

Speaker Pro Tem of the SenateDe’Wayne is a junior majoring in commercial music. He is in his second term as SGA President and is a minister in his local church. He’s also a singer-songwriter.


House of Representatives

Elected by the House

Speaker Pro Tem
Elected by the House

Gionni Carr
University of Memphis
Class of 2008; Social Science
Hometown: Nashville

Deedrick Jeffries
Lambuth University, Jackson
Class of 2008; Political Science
Hometown: Memphis

Speaker of the HouseGionni is President of the Student Body at the University of Memphis. He's been a member of the Black Student Association, Student Event Allocation Committee, Student Ambassador Board, Immediate Past President of his chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Parliamentarian of the NPHC, UC Planning Committee, and a Frosh Camp Counselor.

Speaker Pro Tem of the HouseDeedrick is a senior at Lambuth University majoring in Political Science with a minor in Business Management. Deedrick is currently serving as Student Government Association President at Lambuth. He is a Resident Assistant; Deedrick has served as a Orientation Coordinator and Leader. Deedrick is an Oxley Ambassador.


TISL is a non-partisan 501(c)(3) educational corporation chartered by the State of Tennessee.
©2006 et seq. Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

TISLonline.org Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature